cream cheese pound cake

I tend to be impulsive sometimes. Such as this time recently when I saw a discounted voucher for a KitchenAid Artisan Series Stand Mixer on one of those annoying deals subscriptions. You know these deals vouchers are only available for s short while right. Which meant I had to make a decision quickly. Oh, the PRESSURE. I mean yes, it was discounted, but if you know anything about stand mixers and KitchenAid ones in particular, you would know that discount or not, a substantial sum of money is involved. And I didn’t (don’t) have piles of money sitting around waiting to be spent.

In the end though, it wasn’t that difficult to decide. A shiny, red, amazingly useful and pretty item that I’ve yearned for ever since I knew such a thing existed vs. several years of yearning until I feel I have enough cash to spare. Obviously the pretty factor won.

IMG_6364

IMG_6363

know it’s possible to create baked goods, even complicated stuff, without the help of a stand mixer. But a stand mixer will certainly make this easier. And I really wanted one. Especially the whisk attachment! I couldn’t stop dreaming of perfectly whipped frostings. I couldn’t count the number of times I’ve failed to make whipped cream by hand because I refuse to use the gross stuff in spray cans.

grapefruit zest

grapefruit zest

three cups sugar. yes, it's a pound cake after all.

three cups sugar

IMG_6425

three times two. ie six eggs required

But I didn’t celebrate my new fancy purchase by baking up a three-layer filled and frosted cake. After it sat unopened in its box for about a month, when I finally had a break, I made my and my family’s favourite cream cheese pound cake, a smittenkitchen recipe that never failed to yield soft, delicious, addictive cake each time I made it. Since now I had a huge mixer bowl and a powerful flat beater attachment, I could make the full recipe (for a large bundt cake) in one batch, and also made the strawberry coulis to go with the cake as recommended by Deb.

The only adaptation I made was to add grapefruit zest  to the batter. The citrus complements the cream cheese perfectly and your home will be filled with a heavenly scent while the cake is baking.

the batter is very lickable

the batter is very lickable

i think this is how a well-buttered and floured bundt pan looks like

i think this is how a well-buttered and floured bundt pan looks like

IMG_6435

IMG_6431

IMG_6433

It’s a perfect teatime cake! GET BAKING!

Recipe found here: http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2009/03/cream-cheese-pound-cake-strawberry-coulis/

2 thoughts on “cream cheese pound cake

  1. Love your KitchenAid! I’ve just bought one as well and it’s PINK! 🙂 I can’t help but write about it on my blog. And am becoming slightly obsessed in using it for EVERYTHING!! 🙂 Kim x

Leave a Reply

