cucumber salad

For someone who loves food, mostly of the sinful variety, I do sometimes do a turn-around and go to the other extreme. By having salad for dinner for example.  Cucumber salad for dinner, to be precise. Especially after I have stuffed my face with cupcakes. And frosting. Cream cheese frosting to be precise.

IMG_6798

But how boring can cucumber get right? So I took some inspiration from ‘spaghetti squash’ (where the squash is made into long strips, like noodles) to prettify the cucumber. Sprinkled with salt and pepper and accompanied by a simple dressing of Greek yogurt lemon juice, a dash of dried Italian herbs, mint, salt and pepper, it made for a rather satisfying, refreshing (and overly healthy) dinner.

IMG_6849

IMG_6851

If, unlike me, you’re not abnormal, you would probably have this is as a salad side for a hearty dinner. In my case at least, it tricked my brain into thinking I was balancing all that sugar, butter and cream cheese I had consumed earlier. Most importantly however, it’s pretty so you will want to eat it, and you will enjoy it too knowing that your food looks so good!

IMG_6853

Don’t you agree it’s pretty?! (Ok I think you can stop with the justifications, nobody is going to be convinced.)

Leave a Reply

